Jasmin Labarda: The First Filipina Captain We Can All Be Proud Of

captt

Captain Jasmin Costelo Labarda, 34, fulfilled in 2010 one of her wildest dreams in life – to finally pass the Master Mariner’s examination. A proud alumna of MAAP, she was just 27 years old then when she snatched the prestigious title and eventually became the first ever Filipina to be licensed as Master Mariner or Ship Captain.

Appearing on a promotional video of Globe, Capt. Labarda has below narrative:

“ I’m Jasmin Costelo Labarda.

I’m 32 years old.

I work on a ship  as the Chief Officer, and Senior Dynamic Positioning Officer (Senior DPO).

And I have a Captain License.

There are a lot of challenges kasi nasa male-dominated profession tayo and then female ako.

Pilipino pa tayo. Yung industry mostly ibang nationality.

Medyo hindi sila kampante kapag sinabing  Asian or Pinoy.

And then ang lalaki kailangan magtrabaho ng double, Ikaw babae ka – mas triple pa. Tenfold pa.

3

My mother learned about MAAP – Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific in Camaya Point, Mariveles, Bataan.

My father is a pumpman, and he works in the engine department. So gusto ko rin i-follow up yung work niya.

2010 I got my Master’s License – Captains License. I was 27 then.

Little did I know that Iwould be spending  a lot of time away from the family.

We are very close-knit – close talaga kami.

Especially with my mom. So talagang mahirap.

I know they are my gem. They are my true wealth.

Mawala man ang lahat- family matters. Kumbaga, I can  always buy anything  I want but I cannot find any family.

I reason I moved to the offshore industry – when I got my Chief mate license.

I found out I was third in the Philippines. I was very happy.

Kasi ibig sabihin – may susunod na lima, apat, anim, sampu. Madali na.

Sinabi ko sa sarili ko, by the age of 30 dapat Kapitan na ako. Not only for myself.

But for every female na malaman nila, ganun rin  sa mga lalaki. Kapag nagawa ko, magagawa rin nila.

Whatever you have become, gaano man kalayo yung narating mo, do not forget kung saan ka nanggaling.

Kasi kung saan ka nanggaling – they will always need you.

We are the young generation – so sa atin dapat magmula yung love-concern sa country natin.

Kasi yun lang ang kulang. Walang ibang magmamahal ng bansa natin kundi tayo lang.”

sub

 

Indeed, Capt. Labarda is a source of pride and inspiration among Filipino people. Hopefully, more migrant workers, particularly women, would be empowered more to bring the house down whatever field they’re into.

WATCH VIDEO:

What can you say about Capt. Labarda’s feat?

Share us your thoughts by writing a comment below!

disclaimer

Categories: OFW TALENTS, Overseas Filipino Woker | Tags: , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Jasmin Labarda: The First Filipina Captain We Can All Be Proud Of

  1. Pingback: Hail, Women Migrant Workers! | The Seaambassadors' Republic

  2. Pingback: 13 Reasons Why Filipina Ship Capt. Che Javellana is ‘Beauty and the Best’ | The Seaambassadors' Republic

  3. Pingback: Global Juans | The Seaambassadors' Republic

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

